Welcome Dr. M. Jayachandran to American Journal of Geographical Research and Reviews

Professor Dr. M. Jayachandran
Chief Scientist & Professor of AcSIR, CSIR-New Delhi;
Head, Electrochemical Materials Science Division, CSIR-Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi

Biography & Research Interest

Welcome Dr. M. Jayachandran to Join the Editorial Board of American Journal of Geographical Research and Reviews.

Dr. M. Jayachandran (born on 4th February 1954, Sivagangai, Tamilnadu, India) is the Chief Scientist and Head Electrochemical Materials Science (ECMS) Division at the CSIR-Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi. He is also a Professor of the Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research (AcSIR), CSIR, New Delhi and Research Professor in Research Department of Physics, Sri Sevugan Annamalai College, Devakottai. Received M.Sc., degree in physics from Annamalai University, Chidambaram and Ph.D in Industrial Chemistry from Alagappa University, Karaikudi. Dr.M.Jayachandran is the Co-ordinator of the 140 kW Solar Energy Power Plant Programme at CECRI. He has served in Beuro of Indian Standards (BIS), Government of India as the member of G-33 Committee for Stainless Steel and Cutlery Appliances . His main research interests are: Materials Science, Study of Nano-Oxide semiconductors, Thin film preparation techniques, Materials characterization, Catalytic materials for pollution control, Nitride/oxide hard coatings for bio-medical application and solar energy devices/systems. He is co-author of 221 papers. He presented papers/attended and his students presented/attended about 332 International/National conferences.

He is the Member-Organising committee for Global Congress & Expo on Materials science & Nanoscience (Materials Science-2016), Scientific Federation, Dubai during October 24-26, 2016 Dubai, UAE. He is presently the Academic Council member of Sethu Institute of Technology, Kariapatti, Virudhunagar, Chairman of the Research Advisory Council of EGS Pillay Engineering College, Nagapattinam and had served as board of studies member in many colleges. As the member of Ph.D. Evaluation committee/Viva-voce, he is associated with Kerala University, Trivandram, Madurai Kamarajar University, Madurai, Anna University, Chennai, Bharathidhasan University, Thiruchirapalli, Bharathiyar University, Coimbatore, and Avinashilingam University for Women, Coimbatore.

He received the Sampat Award-2007 given by the Electrochemical Society of India(ECSI), at Indian Institute of Science (IISc.,) Bengaluru. He has served as the Joint Secretary/Secretary/ Vice-President of the Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology (SAEST) at CSIR-CECRI, Karaikudi and as the Governing Council member of ECSI at IISc., Bengaluru. He is Life Fellow member of scientific societies in India including Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology (SAEST), Karaikudi, Electrochemical Society of India (ECSI) Bengaluru, Indian Society for Electro Analytical Chemistry (ISEAC), BARC, Mumbai, Instrument Society of India, Bengaluru, Indian Thermal Analysis Society, BARC Mumbai, Materials Research Society of India, Bengaluru and Solar Energy Society of India, New Delhi.

He has edited proceeding books on “Principals and practice of Powder Xray diffraction”, “Thin Film Preparation and Characterization Techniques for Energy Conversion”, ”Income Generation through Solar Energy Utilization and Corrosion Prevention Measures”, “Surface coatings by Physical Vapour Deposition (PVD), Chemical Vapour Deposition (CVD) and Surface Analysis”and “Materials and Characterization techniques”.

He has guided more than 101 projects for M.Tech., ME., B.Tech. M.sc. and M.Phil., Students from Physics, Chemistry and various Engineering disciplines. Seven patents, three processes and two copyrights are there to his credit. Till now delivered seventy two invited talks on nano materials, thin films, solar energy conversion, preparation techniques and characterization techniques.
He has organized, in various capacities, two International Conferences, one Indo-French workshop, Seven National Conferences and two National workshops.Completed twelve sponsored projects funded by all India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi, Department of Science and Technology (DST), New Delhi, Board of Research in Nuclear sciences (BRNS), Mumbai, Council of Scientific and Industrials Research (CSIR), New Delhi, Govt. of Tamilnadu and many consultancies.

He is presently involved in many projects, along with team of Scientists, funded by Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE)/Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)/ Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences (BRNS) on Dye sensitized solar cells, Metallic glass coatings for Bio-medical implants and Medicated textiles with oxide nano materials for health care/anti-bacterial application.


Click to download